Is it possible to display an obscured value from a mysql database?

jdock1

I want to make a "hint" feature for an app ive been working on. Its a guessing game, and I want to be able to give out hints.

Ok so say there is an answer in the database. Say the value is "firetruck". I want to retrieve that value, and obscure it, displaying only one or two letters that are in the word.

Or, for a number, say 178, I want to display only one digit from it.

Is this possible? Im sure it is, anything seems possible with PHP & Mysql. If so, how could I implement this?

Trust me, I read the manuals. The manuals for both PHP and Mysql are so vast and a little advanced for my level.. then again im not complete novice and know the basics plus more of both.

One of the other of these is what you need.

PHP: substr

MySQL: SUBSTRING()

Thanks! Thats what I was looking for. Im trying to use the php substr, but nothing is being echod. Idk. I probablyneed to use mysql substring, havent looked at it yet. But heres my code:

<?php
include_once('admin/includes/linkmysql.php');
$query= "SELECT * FROM userinfo WHERE USERNAME = '$uname'";
$result= mysql_query($query,$link);
$fetchdata= mysql_fetch_array($result);
$num= $fetchdata['fixednum'];

?>
<fieldset><legend><b>Get Hint</b></legend>
<form action="" method="post" />
<br>
<br>
<input type="submit" name="RequestSubstr" value="Get Hint" />
<?php
if ($_POST['RequestSubstr'] == "Get Hint")
{
echo $num[strlen($num)-1];
}
?>

Try this out. I just wrote it up without testing it, so it may have some minor errors, but the idea is what you're after.

<?php
/**
* Obscure characters in a string
* @param $string The string to be obscured
* @param $amt The amount of characters to be left un-obscured
* @param $amt_type The type of value that the amount is (as per $amt_types)
* @return The obscured string
*/
function obscure($string, $amt = 2, $amt_type = 'percent', $obscure_char = '*')
{