Form values return blank to database

Johnnyboy123

Hey all. I'm a noob so bare with me. Just started studying php and have an assignment due. At this phase of the project I have to create a form where a user can register data and I should retrieve that data and store it in my database. Now I have already created the form (student_reg.php) and a separate file with php code (demo.php)

My database is name "registration" and I am trying to put this info in the "student" table. It has about 15 fields but for now I am only trying trying to insert the 1 field of data to test if it works. Dont know if that may cause problems?

So far my demo.php connects to the database successfully. The problem I am having is the information I submit does not showing in the database field. However, I have an id field in my case a student number field which is set to auto increment so it automatically updates (1,2,3,4) with each new sumbitted info. When I submit the info the id field gets updated each time with a new row ( so i assume some information is somehow going through ) however the info I entered will remain blank in its field. :banghead:

Heres my form (student_reg.php)

<div id="apdiv3">

<FORM action = "demo.php" method ="post ">

<p>Course name:</p>
<INPUT TYPE = "text"  name="input"/> 
<INPUT TYPE = "Submit" VALUE = "Submit"/>
</div>
</FORM>

and heres my php code to retrieve the form info

<?PHP

include 'includes/config.php';

//connect to database
$link=mysql_connect(DB_HOST, DB_USER, DB_PASSWORD);

//error check
if (!$link)
{
die('could not connect: ' . mysql_error());
}

$db_selected=mysql_select_db(DB_NAME, $link);

// error check
if (!$db_selected)
{
die('can\t use ' . DB_NAME . ': ' . mysql_error());
}
	// Connected to database

// retrieve form data
$value=(isset($_POST['input']));

$sql = "INSERT INTO student (sname) VALUES ('$value')";

if (!mysql_query($sql)) 
{
die ('Error: ' . mysql_error());
}
mysql_close();

?>