Best Practise

knobby2k

Hey guys,

I'm relatively new to PHP / MySqL so i'll be posting quite a few questions which i'm sure you lot will be able to help with. I know the basics and have done a work related site in this before but I now want to do a site as a project for work and want to get things spot on.

Background of the project:-

Site to allow a user to register, upload a document and tag the document with relevant tags to the content, which would allow other users to search for relevant material using these tags.

I'm looking for a bit advice with best practise firstly so...

1) for security, would you have a seperate DB's, 1 for the users and 1 for the other stuff OR would you have 1 database but seperate tables?

2) would you include admin users in the normal users table and just give them a field called user_type to differentiate the type of user (e.g. user_type = admin, user_type = standard, etc...), or would you again seperate this on to a seperate DB rather than seperate table.

Your help is much appreciated!!

Cheers

;)

Answers differ depending on your background. Your first concern should be performance. No matter how small/big your project, people won't tolerate a SLOW website. Often your website is SLOW due to bad or non-existent index definitions. Learn how to normalize your DB, and how you define proper indexes. Doing so, will save you lots of money down the road. Hardware-driven optimization is costly.

1) Keep it all in one DB, but keep in mind when writing your code that some tables may be switched to a different DB

2) Using an extra column to store the user_type is a well-known technique. The user_types themselves are best kept in a separate table and referenced using a foreign key to the users table.

+1 with Ignace answers, but also considering your project description