future and present of LAMP in INDIA

pradeepg_jain

Hi,

I am a LAMP programmer and i am working for 4 yrs now. I was happy all these yrs untill i got to know what i was getting payed was peanuts when compared to other technologies.

My question is straight. Whats the value for LAMP professionals as of now in INDIA and in near future. I see in INDIA that not many companies are using PHP except yahoo and some few companies.

Hi,

I am a LAMP programmer and i am working for 4 yrs now. I was happy all these yrs untill i got to know what i was getting payed was peanuts when compared to other technologies.

My question is straight. Whats the value for LAMP professionals as of now in INDIA and in near future. I see in INDIA that not many companies are using PHP except yahoo and some few companies.

Historically, PHP lagged behind ASP and Java developers for a long time, but as it has hit critical mass in the last few year, PHP salaries have gained parity as demand has skyrocketed.  Unfortunately the IT industry in the country in which you live is predicated on low pay in comparison to western countries, as a way to attract out sourcing dollars from European and US companies.

I can assure you that top notch PHP skills are in high demand, however, PHP also suffers somewhat of the same issue that visual basic use to suffer, which is that there is a low barrier to entry, since it's such an easy language to pick up the basics in, and there are is subsequently a glut of entry level developers.  It has taken time for companies to learn that these developers often can not transition to senior level skills, and require a lot of senior level mentoring.