Checkbox Verification to Allow or Renew Registration

edemco

Hello,

:'( I didn't want to learn php; wish I could find a wysiwyg program to do basic coding ... so you know that I'm a noob.

I have a php file that I've been working on. Most of the code was written by other people. I'm trying to add a checkbox that requires the user to agree to the terms of membership. The form works (for all other form entries) and it updates the database with "yes" in the field "agree" for the checkbox. What it doesn't do is verify that the checkbox is marked and prevent the user from continuing. At this time, the form updates regardles of the checkbox being marked or not.

I have run out of hunches and need some expert eyes, please?

[attachment deleted by admin]

well, not willing to learn or showing effort means your topic belongs in the freelance forum.

for now this could be something to have a look in, but please if your not willing to put time in it yourself, post this in the freelance forum.

//simple check if the value is as you want by using an if-clause
if($_POST['agreecheck'] == 'yes'){ //so if the post value is equal to 'yes'
     //perform an action;
     echo 'value is yes';
}else{ //if value is not equal to yes, do something
    echo 'value is not yes, you need to agree blabla bla';

}

more info here: http://www.tizag.com/phpT/ifelse.php if you do all examples there you should know what to do, if not post the code here in code tags and show what you tried.

I guess I need to watch my levity ... it doesn't come through print very well  :-\

Truthfully, I've spent a week of days working on this page and several others. I'm learning, but it takes time to absorb the learing through the fingers in into the brain ;) These pages generally work as expected. The foundation work was paid for. If I need to get it done in a short time, I am not above paying for it to be done. But I need to learn, so I'm paying my dues by the minute.

Here's what I understand: