Split up large html file based on html tags?

hannylicious

Hey guys,

I'm a total newbie here, and just about as a new to php. 

My issue:

I have a very large .html file that contain multiple articles (I actually have a few of these, but we'll start with one for practicality).  The article titles are all wrapped in <h2> tags, there are 10 articles in one file.  The articles are very simple, just a title wrapped with <h2> and then a few paragraphs wrapped in <p> tags. 

What I want to know how to do:

I want to know if there's a way to open that file, and have each article saved as it's own .html or .txt document (the title & following paragraphs of each article).

Ultimately taking my 1 large file, and creating the subsequent 10 smaller files from the articles inside of it.

I am having trouble explaining this in text so I'll try to illustrate:

I have "Articles.html" - which contains (article1,article2,article3.. ..article10)

I want to split "Articles.html" and create "Article1.html", "Article2.html", "Article3.html", etc.

Is that possible?  Or am I looking at something far more complex than I can imagine at this point - perhaps something I'd be better off doing by hand?

Ultimately I intend to stick all these articles into a database, but that's the 2nd part of what I want to do (and I think will be the easier of the tasks).

Let me know if you need any additional information in the event my description above is unclear... I simply am having issues figuring out how to separate out the text into individual articles.

yes, you can use preg_match_all() to pull out the articles between the <h2> tags. Then you can use file_put_contents(), of fopen(), fwrite(), and fclose() to make the file and insert the articles into them.

Alright, excellent.  I'll get to reading and see what I can hack up.

Thanks for the quick reply and good information!  I really appreciate it!

Well, as expected I've ran into some issues :)