Newbie PHP problem

ninjalemon

I'm just starting to learn php, and I set up xampp so I'm using that to test my .php files. I have the file in the right location and php is enabled because it isn't showing me the code, however when my code reads:

echo “<p>Random Text</p>”;

print(“<p>You can print with braces</p>”);

print “<p>or without them!</p>”;   

The output is:

Random Text

”; print(“

You can print with braces

”); print “

or without them!

”;

Why is it showing the "); part and isn't just displaying what is in the quotations? I'm looking at a youtube video PHP tutorial and typed in exactly what the guy did, but I got this as a result and the person just got the words minus all the " and ) and stuff.

I don't know what the term is but make sure you're editing with notepad or a program that has vertical quotation marks.

NOT LIKE THIS

echo “<p>Random Text</p>”;
print(“<p>You can print with braces</p>”);
print “<p>or without them!</p>”;    

LIKE THIS

echo "<p>Random Text</p>";
print("<p>You can print with braces</p>");
print "<p>or without them!</p>";

Fixing both of those problems still just changed my output from displaying the other quote marks to vertical quote marks, so it's just:

Random Text

"; print "

"; print "

or without them!

";

And I looked at php.net's basic tutorial already, and still  when I do the echo "Hello world!"; , the output I get is

Hello World

"; ?>

And I also set the title to be <title><?php echo "Website Title";?></title>

And the title just displays as <?php echo"Website Title";?>, and in the tutorial I'm watching, it just comes out as Website Title

This is my source code in the php file, and again this is copied directly as the tutorial I'm watching says to, and his output is the words without all the extra characters that aren't supposed to be displayed. That's why I'm really confused as to why it's doing this and not what it should be doing

<html>
<head>
	<title><?php echo "Website Title";?></title>
</head>
<body>