SELECT and Count in the same Query

premora

Hello there,

Having a nightmare here.  It feels like what I need to do is really easy but I just can't get it to work.  I have a table called "groups2" that holds a unique id and the name of an activity.

I already have a query that finds the users selected groups using a while loop but I also want to show how many other members are in that group by counting the number of times the activity comes up or the id comes up.  I don't know whether I need 2 while loops nested or what but I get the error

Warning: mysql_fetch_assoc(): supplied argument is not a valid MySQL result resource on line 32 which is highlighted.

Can anyone help.  I am no expert at php and still learning so some advice or example code would be great.

$result = mysql_query("SELECT * FROM groups2 WHERE L_ID = ". $_SESSION['member_ID'] .";");

$data = mysql_query("SELECT COUNT('name') AS num FROM groups2 WHERE name = " . $row['name'] . "");

$count = mysql_fetch_assoc($data);

$numbers = $count['num'];

while ( $row = mysql_fetch_assoc($result) ) {

echo("<tr>

<td><font face='Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif' size='3'><strong>" . $row["name"] . "</strong></font></td>

</tr><tr>

<td><font face='Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif' size='1' color='#0000FF'><strong>Members (" . $numbers . ")</strong></font></td>

</tr><tr>

<td><hr width=95%><br></td>

</tr>");

}

It's a strange one.  If I put your code with the ... or die at the end I get this error

You have an error in your SQL syntax; check the manual that corresponds to your MySQL server version for the right syntax to use near '' at line 1

If I remove the ... or die I still get the previous error

What I don't understand from the error above is the first " mentioned is the "Select .... quote on line 32.  What is going on??

if name is a string, it needs single quotes:-

$data = mysql_query("SELECT COUNT('name') AS num FROM groups2 WHERE name = '" . $row['name'] . "'") or die(mysql_error());