Variables Between PHP Files

ChristoffMason

Hi Guys,

I am relatively new to php, and have hit a problem.  Basically I am writing a PHP socket server - which acts as a socket server for a swish movie.  The only way of getting data into the swish movie is one function - loadvariablesnum() - which uses 'post' or 'get'.  The swish movie is a web GUI for a system and therefore needs a reasonably decent refresh rate - 5 times a second for example.  Originally I wrote a php file that created / bound / listened to the socket and then entered an infinite while loop that would read from the socket and echo the output to the swish movie.

The problem with this method, was that each time the swish movie called loadvariablesnum() the PHP script would re-open - re-bind - re-listen to the socket - which caused all sorts of problems for my client.  Therefore I decided to re-write the PHP file that included functions:

<?               //TCP_Socket_Server.php
global $output;

function TCP_Socket_Server()
{
$host = "10.10.13.59";
$port = 10000;
set_time_limit(0);
$socket = socket_create(AF_INET, SOCK_STREAM, 0) or die("Could not create socket\n");
$result = socket_bind($socket, $host, $port);// or die("Could not bind to socket\n");
$result = socket_listen($socket, 3) or die("Could not set up socket listener\n");
socket_set_block($socket);
$spawn = socket_accept($socket) or die("Could not accept incoming connection\n");
// read client input
while(1)
{
	$input = socket_read($spawn, 10000);// or die("Could not read input\n");
	$input = trim($input);
	global $output;
	$output = $input;
	WriteData();
	flush();
}
socket_close($spawn);
socket_close($socket);
}

function WriteData()
{
static $LocalTemp;
global $output;
$LocalTemp = $output;
$TempBuffer = "&TCP_SocketServerBufferVar=";
//$TempBuffer .= $GLOBALS['output'];
$TempBuffer .= $LocalTemp;
echo $TempBuffer;
}
?>