Considerable Performance drop after sleep is introduced

superkart

Hi All,

I'm new to PHP and I'm probably making a fundamental mistake somewhere, however, enough time wasted, I thought you might be able to shed some light on my problem.

I basically have a php script running with nginx and fast_cgi. The whole script is just a large switch statement that does some matching against the request strings and returns a template rendered by Tenjin. It all works fine and it's quite performant based on a simple curl-loader test.

The simple performance figures are taken from curl-loader and show 400 CAPS (Call Attempts Per Second).

The test is 200 clients requesting the same url for 100 cycles.

The problem arises when I introduce a "sleep" into the php code for 150 milliseconds, which is my basic idea of introducing latency to the system. The performance for the same test of 200 clients * 100 cycles produces 55 CAPS which is a huge drop in performance based on 150 millisecond delay. The sleep method used is "usleep" and I've also tried "time_nanosleep".

I know there's not a huge amount of info there but based on performance figures above, is there something fundamental/trivial I'm missing or doing??? Are there any known issues with the sleep methods???

I've tried setting 'set_time_limit(0)' before the sleep call but that didn't help. Any advice you can offer is greatly appreciated..

Oh the system and software versions:

The whole thing is running on Linux (Ubuntu 10.04)

PHP:

php -v

PHP 5.3.2-1ubuntu4.9 with Suhosin-Patch (cli) (built: May  3 2011 00:43:34)

Copyright © 1997-2009 The PHP Group

Zend Engine v2.3.0, Copyright © 1998-2010 Zend Technologies

with Suhosin v0.9.29, Copyright © 2007, by SektionEins GmbH

php-fpm -v

PHP 5.3.2-1ubuntu4.7ppa5~lucid1 (fpm-fcgi) (built: Jan 14 2011 13:40:51)

php5 -v

PHP 5.3.2-1ubuntu4.9 with Suhosin-Patch (cli) (built: May  3 2011 00:43:34)