copy() error

bgdonline

Hello, im new to php and I would appreciate help with this one....

Error code is

Warning: copy() expects parameter 1 to be string, array given in /path/to/file/http.class.php on line 143

Error block

if (count($_FILES) > 0) {
			foreach ($_FILES as $name => $file) {
				if ($file['tmp_name']) {
					$newfile=dirname(__FILE__).'/../cache/'.$file['name'];
					$newfiles[]=$newfile;
					copy ($file['tmp_name'],$newfile);
					if ($file['tmp_name']) $this->post[$name]='@'.$newfile;
				}
			}
		}

Line 143

copy ($file['tmp_name'],$newfile);

The $_FILES array is multidimensional and looks like this:

[key 'xxx'] => {

[tmp_name] => 'some_name'

[name] => 'some_name_again'

and so on...

}

When you loop through it, you're referencing keys with the $name variable and values with the $file variable. Trying to access $file['tmp_name'] makes no sense, because $file is a string. That's why copy() is giving an error, because it expects a string.

Said that, there's no need to loop through $_FILES unless you have a multiple upload form and for that, you'd have to iterate the array in a slightly different case. If you have just one upload input, just access $_FILES like this:

<?php
echo $_FILES['input_name']['tmp_name'];
?>

where 'input_name' is the name attribute of your file input. If you still aren't clear enough, I will give you a full example.

The $_FILES array is multidimensional and looks like this:

[key 'xxx'] => {

[tmp_name] => 'some_name'

[name] => 'some_name_again'

and so on...

}

When you loop through it, you're referencing keys with the $name variable and values with the $file variable. Trying to access $file['tmp_name'] makes no sense, because $file is a string. That's why copy() is giving an error, because it expects a string.