What prevents users from running your cron.php

clumsygenius

@ignace - by webroot do you mean the same folder where my index.php is? pages in that folder are accessible to anyone right?

keep in mind theres probably a simple obvious answer to my question because I'm a beginner. I'm assuming most web sites a have a cron page, and that page is located in the root, but if I type  in http://www.phpfreaks.com/cron.php I'm don't get anything. is there something special about the name "cron" or is it there a configuration file somewhere in my server that tells it to only allow access to cron.php from the local host?

I actually don't think there is a significant security risk if the script is designed properly. I found one web app using an image tag in index.php to run cron.php. If cron.php does not find a job to run, nothing further happens.

Under is better terminology - think of it as a tree.

Your root is at the bottom, and branches grow up and out. People are too used to folder-tree views, where new folders go under their parents. Ideally, it would be in reverse.

Yes, put it in a directory where people visiting your website can't access. This will allow the cron to run only when you expect.

If I put my cron.php obove the folder where my index.php, how would I access it? would i do http://localhost/../cron.php?

I guess I should clarify: I'm doing this on windows 7, I wave an apache server installed. I can only run .php files through a browser by typing in localhost/file.php

Im using task scheduler to execute internet explorer and pass in the url to a cron page as a paramete. I dont know what the URL would be for a page that is above my webroot??

@xyph: I would bet that I'm not acrtually running a cron and doing it the rookie way since I don't know much about it. please enlighten me! what is the REAL way of doing it as apose to emulating it??? can I do it on a windows machine?