Newbie needing help with checkboxes

good_boy

Hi guys!

I'm new to PHP and I need help from you to create a simple form with checkboxes. Experts here will be able to solve it easily. I'm posting a part of the code below.

form.html

Interests<br />
Sports<input type="checkbox" name="interests[]" value="Sports" /> <br />
Reading<input type="checkbox" name="interests[]" value="Reading" /> <br /> 
Surfing<input type="checkbox" name="interests[]" value="Surfing" /> <br />

output.php

<?php
$inter = $_POST['interests'];
?>

I read somewhere that it is now submitted as an array to to the output.php file but I don't know how to play with it.I want php to out put the values of $inter in the following manner.

"You are interested in {$inter}."

Please help me. Is this a very complicated code to write?

try out:

<form action="" method="post">
    Interests<br />
    Sports<input type="checkbox" name="interests[]" value="Sports" /> <br />
    Reading<input type="checkbox" name="interests[]" value="Reading" /> <br />
    Surfing<input type="checkbox" name="interests[]" value="Surfing" /> <br />
    <input type="submit" value="submit" name="submit" />
</form>

<?php

if(isset($_POST['submit'])&& isset($_POST['interests'])){ // if someone presses submit and 'interest is also set
    var_dump($_POST['interests']); // var_dump just show how the array is build up, just use for testing

foreach($_POST['interests'] as $value) {// for each loop since it's an array
       echo 'you are interested in '.$value.'<br />'; //echo out each value that is inside of the array
   }//end foreach

}// end if clause

:o

It worked!!!Thanks a million.I have a few more doubts which I'm posting below.

1.I wanted PHP to process & output the names from my form in the 'first letter of the word in uppercase & the rest in lowercase' method.