Inserting multiple values into mysql

Slowie

Hi People

i'm a newb at this so bare with me but i currently have a php file called Newkpi.php which has a select statement in. this selects data from a table called "StaffList".

this then populates the page with a html table with 14 records (this will increase/decrease over time) i then have some extra text boxes to enter more detail into like service amaount service date and so on.

when i click the submit button i want it to cycle through each row and insert the data into a separate table called "Services". however i cannot for the life of me get this to work and need some help with it. people find attached the code for Newkpi and see if you can help me with this.

in total i want it to take the names from stafflist and populate Services with the names and the extra detail which is entered on the page

Much Thanx in advance

SLOWIE

[attachment deleted by admin]

You want to assign each field as an array like this:

<input type="text" name="$price[]" />

And then loop through with a for loop inserting them into the database along the lines of this:

foreach($price as $key => $value) {

$query = "INSERT INTO services (price) VALUES ('{$key['$value']}')";
$query = mysql_query($query);

}

Been a while since I've used a loop in this way but I'll post my most recent method as a working example once I find it. ;)

You'll be a life saver if you could i have been banging my head against a wall over this.

just courious, would this work correctly for pulling the information ( in this case the staff member) and inserting it into another table

<td name="user_name" value=><?php echo $rrows['full_name'];?></td>

so if i do a mysql query of

INSERT INTO Services (user_name) VALUES ($_POST('user_name'));

would it pull the staff member from the form into the services table. as im sure i have done this incorrectly

Hello Slowie,