Where & How to do Validations

rfnel

Hi Guys

I'm pretty new to PHP, and I've taken on a small PHP project.  My project has (among other things) a page where you can capture/edit users.  This involves entering a user name and password on an HTML POST form.  Upon submitting the form, the data is set to a php script that writes it to a MySQL database.  My problem is this - I need to validate the data before writing it to the database.  I have to check that all required fields have values, that the "Password" and "Confirm Password" fields match and that the user did not enter illegal characters (SQL injection).  Where should this happen?  The script can validate the data, but then I'll still need a way to send the user back to the form and repopulate it automatically with what the user had entered.  I can't use GET parameters (due to having to keep the password private).  One way of doing it might be to send everything except the password as GET parameters, and force the user to re-enter the password.  Am I missing something here?  What's the best way of doing validations?

Thanks for your input.

Cheers,

Riaan

There's no one single correct way of validating data. It has to be validated based on the values that are allowed (or disallowed). Here is a fairly basic example of form validation and input error handling using arrays and some CSS. Copy it into a file and run it, see how it works, and make changes to it to see what the result is.

<?php
if( isset($_POST['submitted']) && $_POST['submitted'] == 'yes' ) { //check for hidden field value to indicate form has been submitted
$errors = array(); // initialize an array to hold validation errors
$_POST = array_map('trim', $_POST); // trim all $_POST array values

if( !empty($_POST['name']) ) { // validate the name field
	if( !ctype_alpha($_POST['name']) ) {
		$errors['name'][] = 'Name must be alphabetic characters only.'; // if name has non alpha chars, store error
	}