Convert Numerical ID Value to Text Value

hobbiton73

I wonder whether someone may be able to help me please. I'm fairly new to PHP programming so please bear with me.

I currently have a HTML user input form, where two of the fields are dependable drop down boxes. The user selects text values from these and, along with other pieces of information, the record is saved to a mySQL database. However, rather than saving the text value I save the 'id' field value for each selection made.

On another 'Read Only' form, the user can then go back to have a look at the records they have previously saved.

The problem I have is that rather than the user being able to see the text values selected from the drop down menus, they can only see the id for each of the selections made. I just wondered whether it would be at all possible please that someone could show me what I need to do so that the user can see the 'text' rather than the 'id' value from the selections they have made.

The code that I am using to load the information into the read only form is below.

<?php 
require("phpfile.php"); 

// Start XML file, create parent node 

$dom = new DOMDocument("1.0"); 
$node = $dom->createElement("markers"); 
$parnode = $dom->appendChild($node); 

// Opens a connection to a MySQL server 

$connection=mysql_connect ("hostname", $username, $password); 
if (!$connection) { die('Not connected : ' . mysql_error());} 

// Set the active MySQL database 

$db_selected = mysql_select_db($database, $connection); 
if (!$db_selected) { 
die ('Can\'t use db : ' . mysql_error()); 
} 

// Select all the rows in the table 

$query = "SELECT findid, locationid, detectorid, searchheadid "; 

$result = mysql_query($query); 
if (!$result) { 
die('Invalid query: ' . mysql_error()); 
} 

header("Content-type: text/xml"); 

// Iterate through the rows, adding XML nodes for each 

while ($row = @mysql_fetch_assoc($result)){ 
// ADD TO XML DOCUMENT NODE 
$node = $dom->createElement("marker");