Feedback/Sharing custom MVC framework (for learning, not production)

tehprofessor

Howdy Y'all,

I'm writing a php MVC framework to learn php, I've been at it about a week, and I was wondering if I could get some feedback. Since I'm new to PHP I'm mostly looking for tips on coding best practices, MVC design tips, or if there are any big "WTFs?" in my code where I've obviously missed the point. I'm hoping when it's finished to document it thoroughly to help others trying to learn.

About the framework/purpose:

My goal is mainly to write/stitch-together a router, dispatcher, security/sanitization, controller, and logger. For the models I'm extending phpActiveRecord and for the views, I'm using smarty templates (writing a template engine and abstracting SQL didn't sound appealing, plus I feel like those should both be pretty modular). I choose phpActiveRecord simply because I typically use rails, and it was the most familiar ORM I could find.

https://github.com/tehprofessor/arrgh.framework

Credits for code/tutorials I used in the process at the bottom of the github page. It's licensed under MIT (where applicable) so if you want to use it for something, go ahead! I've documented a fair bit, so hopefully it's not impossible to figure out what I've done.

I'm currently finishing up rewriting the router and dispatcher, so it doesn't do much but parse parts of the url.

Cheers.

Edit: I'm sorry if I posted this in the wrong forum. I did try to find the right place, an this seemed the most appropriate.

A few things.