A few questions about PHP GTK

drayarms

Hello everyone, I have been doing web developing for a little while and just recently decided to make the leap to developing standalone applications.  I started learning C++ and JAVA for this purpose, but quickly learned that PHP can also be used to this end, and since I am quite familiar with PHP, I thought it would make sense to start with PHP GTK.  But before I jump right in, I have a few questions that I would greatly appreciate some answers for:

Does PHP have any significant advantages/disadvantages over lower level languages such as C++ ?  I would imagine that PHP being originally designed for web programming would be less suited for stand alones.

I'm a little confused as to whether the GTK is a graphical user interphase software, the likes of QT and Netbeans,  or is it a markup language like HTML, where the widgets are generated with text commands?  Please I need a little clarification on that.  Also are there any other tools that need to be downloaded to get started besides the GTK?

Finally, am I supposed to learn OOP PHP to get going or is traditional procedural PHP sufficient?

Answers to any or all of the above questions and any other advice would be highly appreciated.

Thanks.

The main disadvantage to using php for something like this is that php & php-gtk will need to be installed on any machine you wish your application on. Besides that, there isn't a great deal of people using gtk as far as I can tell. It's always felt a little facky to me anyway compared to gtk implimentations in languages such as Python.

I'm a little confused as to whether the GTK is a graphical user interphase software, the likes of QT and Netbeans

Netbeans is an IDE, but yeah, GTK is a framework like Qt.

Finally, am I supposed to learn OOP PHP to get going or is traditional procedural PHP sufficient?