Securing PHP Sessions

R8kit

Hey everyone,

I am new to PHP and I want to learn how to secure a PHP session properly.

I wrote a few lines, but I don't know if it's secure enough.

<?php
session_start();

if (isset($_SESSION['exists'])) {
    if ($agent != $_SERVER['HTTP_USER_AGENT']) {
        session_unset();
        session_destroy();
        session_regenerate_id(True);
}
}
else {
    $_SESSION['exists']=1;
    $agent=$_SERVER['HTTP_USER_AGENT'];
    session_regenerate_id();
}
?>

Can anybody help me correct or improve my code?

Thanks in advance.

In your first block, $agent comes from nowhere.  Are you meaning to store $agent in the session somewhere?

session_unset() takes an argument, you've provided none.  Regardless, session_unset is deprecated and should not be used.

session_regenerate_id serves no purpose for either of these actions.

More correct code:

<?php
session_start();

if ( isset($_SESSION['agent']) && $_SESSION['agent'] != $_SERVER['HTTP_USER_AGENT'] ) {
  foreach ( array_keys($_SESSION) as $key ) {
    unset($_SESSION[$key]);
  }
}
else {
    $_SESSION['agent'] = $_SERVER['HTTP_USER_AGENT'];
}
?>

As for the SO article posted by voip:

Use SSL when authenticating users or performing sensitive operations.
Good advice, but SSL certs are expensive.

Regenerate the session id whenever the security level changes (such as logging in). You can even regenerate the session id every request if you wish.
I think regenerating the session id is unnecessary, and will break if you have non-locking sessions using a custom handler (which currently you don't, but still)

Have sessions time out
Sessions time out already.

Don't use register globals
Good advice, register_globals is bad and wrong and evil

Store authentication details on the server. That is, don't send details such as username in the cookie.
More good advice, cookies are for data that's relatively useless, or things you need to get to in javascript