Complete Beginner

stevenp

Hi,

Basically I just downloaded wamp and got php and mysql etc.

I created a database for my "new social network to-be site" which I am trying to develop.. now I want to create a registration page and am trying to follow a guide on another website.. it lets you download a zip with all the php files required.

So now, I am totally confused.

Here is the guide: http://www.html-form-guide.com/php-form/php-registration-form.html

But I dont know what to do with any file or where to put it.. any basic help..

Just to confirm I want to make a login/registration/user database type thing

Well WAMP, provides Apache or localhost which can basically host php offline.. if you get what I mean.. so instead of a paid web server i have apache which does the same locally for free.

I tried uploading a file to my database (can you even upload a .php to the database?) and I get this error.. I dont undertsand.. sorry if I am being dim :)

Error

There seems to be an error in your SQL query. The MySQL server error output below, if there is any, may also help you in diagnosing the problem

ERROR: Unknown Punctuation String @ 1

STR: <?

SQL: <?PHP

require_once("./include/fg_membersite.php");<?PHP

require_once("./include/fg_membersite.php");

SQL query:

<?PHP require_once("./include/fg_membersite.php");

MySQL said: 

#1064 - You have an error in your SQL syntax; check the manual that corresponds to your MySQL server version for the right syntax to use near '<?PHP

require_once("./include/fg_membersite.php")' at line 1

Find your Apache folder. It should have htdocs and conf folders in it.