Pulling sunset time from txt file and displaying on site daily

master4g

Hey everyone. Currently I have a site set up where I manually edit the txt file and the site pulls it from the text file and displays via php. I wanted to automate it by creating one file which contains the sunset times for the whole year, and have php determine todays date and then display the corresponding sunset time.

Can someone please point me in the right direction?

maybe it can be set up in a way where each line in the txt file represents the day of the year. ex: Jan 1 would be line 0, Feb 1's sunset time would be on line 31 etc.

Thanks

Thanks for all the replies. I am relatively new to PHP so some of those suggestions flew past my head.

I currently have a paper with the desired times for each day of the year, which I can sit down and input into the computer depending on how I decide to store the info.

I don't have experience with databases but If I was pointed in the right direction, I can research and try to figure it out.

xyph: can you please elaborate on using an INI to store? do you have any link or tip I can follow to look into that. Thanks

Also, I can use the php sunset feature, but I would like to learn another way (like the txt file with the data, or an INI? or database) because hopefully in the future I can use this coding for another similar project which goes as follows: example: show a certain time for a certain date frame so from Jan1-Jan19 show "6:30" and then from Jan20-Feb23 show "6:45" , etc.

@master4g:

Look at Pikachu2000's response. There are built-in functions in PHP (I didn't realize this) that will return the sunrise, sunset, etc. information AUTOMATICALLY. You do not need to do anything - no data entry. PHP is all knowing! Well, not really, but it is simply a mathematical calculation for the sunrise/sunset for any given latitude/longitude.

Look at the functions he linked to

To actual answer your more direct question: