Help with PHP / mysql database UPDATE SCRIPT

eric11

Hi,

Im just in the middle of creating an update script for my mysql database but don't know why it's not working. p.s. I'm a little new to PHP, but know quite a bit, it's probably something really small.. *facepalm*

Here's the script:

the form (update.php)

<?

// Connect to the database

$link = mysql_connect('###', '###', '###');

if (!$link) {

die('Could not connect: ' . mysql_error());

}

mysql_select_db('###', $link);

$id = $_GET['id'];

// Ask the database for the information from the links table

$query="SELECT * FROM orders WHERE id='$id'";

$result = mysql_query("SELECT * FROM orders");

$num=mysql_numrows($result);

mysql_close();

$i=0;

while ($i < $num) {

$name=mysql_result($result,$i,"Name");

$location=mysql_result($result,$i,"Location");

$fault=mysql_result($result,$i,"Fault");

?>

<form action="updated.php" method="post">

<input type="hidden" name="ud_id" value="<? echo "$id";?>">

Name: <input type="text" name="ud_name" value="<? echo "$name"?>"><br>

Location: <input type="text" name="ud_location" value="<? echo "$location"?>"><br>

Fault: <input type="text" name="ud_fault" value="<? echo "$fault"?>"><br>

<input type="Submit" value="Update">

</form>

<?

++$i;

}

?>

------------------------------------------------------

(processor) updated.php

<?php

$link = mysql_connect('###', '###', '###');

if (!$link) {

}

mysql_select_db('###', $link);

$query="UPDATE orders SET Name='" . $_POST['ud_name'] . "', Location='" . $_POST['ud_location'] . "', Fault='" . $_POST['ud_fault'] . "' WHERE $id='" . $_POST['ud_id'] . "'";

echo $query;

$checkresult = mysql_query($query);

if ($checkresult) echo '<p>update query succeeded';

else echo '<p>update query failed';

mysql_close();

?>

------------------------------------------------------

Every time I want to update, it comes up with:

UPDATE orders SET Name='TEST', Location='TEST', fault='jbjh' WHERE =''

update query failed