Need advice on sql injection protection and why my function won't work.

sptrsn

I haven't had a problem with sql injection yet, but I'm scarred to death. 

I didn't do any form data validation as I was building my site. I'm just now starting to learn how.

Magic_quotes is turned on at my host.

I know about htmlspecialchars and mysql_real_escape_string and stripslashes and htmlentities.

In testing each of these, it seems they all miss one thing or another.

so, I created an array of words and characters that I can't for the life of me imagine anyone would ever need on any form in my site, that I THINK addresses most if not all of the really bad things. But hey... I'm new to this. So here is my array and using print_r() it looks pretty good.

$badstuff = array('select','delete','update','insert','drop','=',';','"','\'','<','>','/');

Array ( [0] => select [1] => delete [2] => update [3] => insert [4] => drop [5] => select [6] => delete [7] => update [8] => insert [9] => drop [10] => = [11] => ; [12] => " [13] => ' [14] => < [15] => > [16] => / )

My str_ireplace() function works fine within the code, but I'd like to create a function using str_ireplace(). I am failing miserably.

Here is my function that doesn't work...

function strip($string){
	return str_ireplace($badstuff,"",$string);
}

Here below..... the first line, that uses the function does NOT work.

The second line that just uses str_replace() function works fine.

echo strip($string).'<br>';
echo str_ireplace($badstuff,"",$string)

Can anyone tell me why my function does not work? I've read and watched 20 tutorials and just can't see the problem.

Thanks for any input.

put the $badstuff array inside the function, php isn't like javascript, in that everything in the global scope is accessible within other scopes.

if it is necessary to leave $badstuff on the outside of the function's scope..

use global $badstuff;

in the function

like this:

function strip($string){
global $badstuff;