MySQL data into HTML table

adrian_

Hi all,

I'm new to php/myslq and I'm going crazy trying to figure this one out

I'm building a personal calendar and I want to display the data into a HTML table.

//query the database
$query = "SELECT * FROM tbl_events WHERE event_day=$day AND event_month=$month AND event_year=$year";
$query = mysql_query($query);

//build the table
echo '<table>';
for ($y = 0; $y < 6; $y++){
   echo '<tr><td>';
        //insert the data here
   echo '</td></tr>';
}
echo '</table>';

When I store the events into the database, I assign a slot for each one depending on the hour. I don't want to use more than 6 events daily, hence the for loop. The problem I have is how to I insert the data into the designed <td>? In a particular day I could have only 2 events: event 1 - slot 2, event 2 - slot 6. I want to be able to enter each event into its own cell

I hope I'm making myself clear enough. Sorry for any English mistakes if any.

Thank you

OK. So I can do it if I query the database at every single line

after the creation of the table cell I entered the following code:

$query = "SELECT * FROM tbl_events WHERE event_day=$day AND event_month=$month AND event_year=$year AND event_slot=$y";
$query = mysql_query($query);

//echo $row['event_image'];

if(mysql_num_rows($query) > 0){
	$row = mysql_fetch_array($query);
	echo 'event taken';	//here I'll insert the code to display the event
}
else {
	echo 'empty event';
}

Is this the correct way in doing it? What will happen if I get let say 100 visitors in the same time and I generate a calendar of events for 2 weeks?

2weeks * 6 events/per day * 100 visitors = 1200 queries to the database...

Isn't it much? Can it take it?

Many thanks

Databases are designed to handle large amount of data. So need not worry about the size of data..

If size of your data increases still your database will handle it,  just take care that you have a normalized table so your database responds efficiently.