Simple Message Board Reply Feature

bobdole1989

Hi all, I'm very new to the wonderful world of php, so I'd appreciate any and all help in the matter. I've greatly simplified the code below to hopefully help you in helping me. Thanks!

Ok, so I'm integrating a very simple message board feature into my site. The basic idea is that people post a comment, and have the option of replying to existing comments. I'm definitely not looking for a complete forum; just something that allows users to post and reply.

I've tackled the posting bit easily enough. I have a form. Users fill in the form and the message, along with user information, is sent to a MySQL database. The information includes the username(Poster), the message(Message), an id that corresponds to the topic in question(Messid), a unique ID code for the message itself (ID), and a number of other variables like date and rank.

I then use a while statement to bring up all of the messages that pertain to a particular topic; The output will only show messages that share the same Messid, and they are arranged in terms of descending ID:

<? 
while($row = mysql_fetch_array($resultcomments))
  {
    $poster=$row['Poster']; 
  $message= $row['Message'];
$ID=$row['ID'];

echo $message.$poster.$ID;

}

So far, so good. What I want is for users to be able to click on any one of the particular messages, and post a response comment that will appear directly below the message to which it responds. Any ideas how I might go about such a task?