Echo'ing HTML

stevegc

Hi everyone,

First time post for me :)  I am quite new to PHP so excuse the beginner question but I can't find and answer for it.

I have a backend application that allows an admin to update the frontend homepage with a WYSIWYG html editor (Xinha).  I store the html into mysql and retrieve the data for display on the front end homepage.  The problem is the html is not rendering and displaying with the tags as text.

When saving the data to the db I use htmlentities($data) and when retrieving I used html_entity_decode($data) before passing it to the template to be rendered.  I am using a simple <?php echo $data ?> to display the data.

On the same page I have <?php $testingHTML = "<p>This is some text with a <b>bold</b> word in it</p>" ?> followed down the page by an <?php echo $testingHTML ?> and that renders perfectly.  So I must be doing something wrong?

Thank you in advance and I hope that makes sense.

Steve

There's no need to call htmlentities or html_entity_decode at all. Take that out, and you're fine.

This can be dangerous though. You should only allow trusted users to use this form, to prevent someone from injecting malicious JavaScript or HTML into your page.

If you don't trust the people entering data into the form, then use an implementation of BBCode or something similar.

There's no need to call htmlentities or html_entity_decode at all. Take that out, and you're fine.

This can be dangerous though. You should only allow trusted users to use this form, to prevent someone from injecting malicious JavaScript or HTML into your page.

If you don't trust the people entering data into the form, then use an implementation of BBCode or something similar.

Thanks for the reply xyph.  I tried it without the htmlentities and html_entities_decode but got the same results.

The only people with access to this will actually be my parents so it should be quite safe in terms of malicious code :)