How to overwrite an existing table record

jllav03

I am new to PHP.

Goal: I want to create a php function that will override an existing table record

Condition: Only if the text in the id input box is identical to what is already in the database.

Currently, it just creates a new record.

The id in question is a Title field within an html Form. So if the title which has an id of dmname is already in the database, the new entry should override/replace what is there.

I'm using Joomla as my cms system which has an area for the PHP code and uses MySQL.

HTML snipet:

<div class="form_item">

<div class="form_element cf_textbox">

<label class="cf_label" style="width: 150px;">Title:</label>

<input class="cf_inputbox required" maxlength="150" size="30" title=""id="dmname" name="dmname" type="text" />

</div>

Please let me know if I need to clarify more. Thank you

I'm getting closer. I was able to mark my field TITLE as Unique, (im using myPHPAdmin), and it works. But when I create a new record with the same TITLE name, it errors out, instead of overwriting the existing record. The article below perfectly addresses my problem, but in phpMyAdmin, how do I set the field to NOT NULL and change INSERT to INSERT IGNORE? I can't even find an option for that.

What I found:

To prevent multiple records with the same first and last name values from being created in this table, add a PRIMARY KEY to its definition. When you do this, it's also necessary to declare the indexed columns to be NOT NULL, because a PRIMARY KEY does not allow NULL values:

CREATE TABLE person_tbl

(

first_name CHAR(20) NOT NULL,

last_name CHAR(20) NOT NULL,

sex CHAR(10)

PRIMARY KEY (last_name, first_name)

);

The presence of a unique index in a table normally causes an error to occur if you insert a record into the table that duplicates an existing record in the column or columns that define the index.