newb needs help: Single quotes going into a database... err...

doofy

I have a simple form that connects to this php page. Only two variables, "ArticleDescription" & "URL". I've tried a number of things, several of which are listed below, but have had no success. I'm certain it's just my idiocy but am requesting some help with this. I KNOW it's an easy fix, it's just over my head, I'm only four days into programming, so I'm a complete newb. Your kindness is requested.

----

<?php

// connection

mysql_select_db("doofyd5_comments", $con);

$ArticleDescription=mb_convert_encoding($ArticleDescription, 'UTF-8', 'UTF-8');

$URL=htmlspecialchars($URL, ENT_QUOTES);

$ArticleDescription=str_replace('\"','"',$ArticleDescription);

$sql="INSERT INTO web_articles (ArticleDescription, URL) VALUES ('$_POST[ArticleDescription]','$_POST')";

if (mysql_query($sql,$con)) {

header ("location:desiredurl");

require_once('desiredurl");

exit();

}

else {

echo "You may have added a single quote to the article description!";

}

mysql_close($con)

?>

----

doofy,

You're method of validation is not validation at all. Checking whether the query executes or not is not a way of validating whether it has quotes or not.

You need to validate before hand, if that's what you're trying to do. Something more like this:

<?php

// connection

$URL=htmlspecialchars($URL, ENT_QUOTES); // ENT_QUOTES converts all quotes to HTML equivalent. ENT_COMPAT converts only Double Quotes.

$sql="INSERT INTO web_articles (ArticleDescription, URL) VALUES ('$_POST[ArticleDescription]','$_POST[url]')";

require_once('desiredurl");
    exit();
    }
    else {

echo "An unexpected error occured.";
  // ADMIN ERROR MESSAGE
  //echo mysql_error();
}

mysql_close($con)

?>

--- Edit ---

Furthermore, you have not actually identified what the problem you are having is.

Thanks for the quick reply and bare with me.