Which is the Most Efficient Way to Generate an Unique Random Number?

Glese

I am looking to generate a random number for every user contribution as a title of the contribution.

I could simply check the database each time with a query and generate a number which does not equal to any of the entries of the database. But I imagine this as inefficient and it could become slow if the database is big in my opinion. Also I'd have to contain all the numbers of the database somewhere to manage the "not equals to", in an array or something similar but that can end up as a giant one.

Excuse the layman's speech I am new to this.

Any suggestions how this can be solved efficiently without straining the resources too much? You can explain it linguistically and do not have to provide me any scripts, I will figure it out.

the easiest way to generate a unique number is to use a myql auto_increment.

Which is not random, but why do you need it to be random? Using an auto-increment column is the best way to ensure each record has a unique primary key. You should have a really good reason for needing a random unique number. The problem is that the more records you have, the larger you need to make the pool of possible numbers to ensure you don't get caught in a loop looking for an available value and the complexity will grow.

I just think if it is done with auto increment the page will look a bit industrial and lifeless, with random numbers it gives it more life.

What do you think of using uniqid(), I just tried it and it does work, I am just wondering if the ID is really always unique or if two can happen coincidentally as well.

Other than that I could start a number at 10000 and do it with auto increment from there on.

I just think if it is done with auto increment the page will look a bit industrial and lifeless, with random numbers it gives it more life.