Dynamic Form Processing

airpirate007

So I know a little about PHP but I am no expert by any means. But I have a project that I am working on for a fantasy football league and need some help. My users pick players from a list and then their selections are put into a database. So more than one user is likely to pick the same player. Then I need to score the players based off their games for the week. So I have code that gets the Distinct PlayerID and creates a form to update the player score (see code below), but I have no idea how to process the form. It's a little more complicated then the forms I've used before because the MySQL query would need to UPDATE all the rows for each individual PlayerID. Am I making any sense?

Anyway, here is the code. If anyone has suggestions on how to process this form or a better way of doing it then please let me know.

<?

print '<form id="form1" name="form1" method="post" action="update_player.php">';

// Connecting, selecting database

$link = mysql_connect('localhost','user','pass');

if (!$link) {

die('Could not connect: ' . mysql_error());

}

//Query

$query=mysql_query("select DISTINCT(PlayerID), PlayerName, Team From fantasy4.temp ORDER BY Team;") or die ('Could not connect: ' . mysql_error());

print'

<center>

<table align=center border=0 cellpadding=0 cellspacing=2 width=350>

<tr align=center>

<td width=50 align=center><b>Player ID </b></td>

<td width=50 align=center><b>Team</b></td>

<td width=200 align=center><b>Player Name</b></td>

<td width=50 align=center><b>Score</b></td>

<tr><td colspan="10" bgcolor="black" height="1"></td></tr>

';

while($row=mysql_fetch_array($query)){

if($color == 1)

{

print '<tr bgcolor=#dDdDdD>

<td align=center> ' . $row['PlayerID'] . ' </td>

<td align=center> ' . $row['Team'] . ' </td>

<td align=center> ' . $row['PlayerName'] . ' </td>

<td align=center> <input name="' . $row['PlayerID'] . '" type="text" id="' . $row['PlayerID'] . '" size="5" maxlength="5" /> </td>

</tr>';