Need some help with news adding.

Misty87

Hello everyone, 

I'm making a site with PHP script and PHPmyadmin database,  i need some help with how to add news and then edit them or delete them on the site, not in the Database(if that is even possible to do it there), so far i can only delete the news,  but when i try to add new stuff i just get the error message of my code, which is not very nice of it but hey, i'm a noob at this PHP so i must be doing something wrong.

this is the code i have for the current situation.

<?php
include_once( 'database_functions.php' );

$connectID = 
	connectToDatabase( 'login' );  
mysql_set_charset( 'utf8', $connectID );
$categories = mysql_query('SELECT * FROM ref_categories', $connectID);

if( @$_POST && @$_POST['submitted'] && ( !@$_GET[ 'id' ] ) )
{
	$title 			= ( $_POST[ 'topic_name' ] );
	$topic 		= ( $_POST[ 'topic_desc' ] );

//write to database
	mysql_query ( "INSERT into news (title, topic) 
				VALUES ('$title', '$topic')", 
					$connectID )
		or die ("Unable to insert record into database");
	print "Record successfully added";
}
elseif( !$_POST && $_GET && $_GET['id'] )
{
	$id = $_GET['id'];
	$thisRecord = mysql_query("SELECT * FROM ref_categories WHERE id = $id", 
		$connectID )
			or die( "Can't Read this record." );

$recordData = mysql_fetch_array( $thisRecord, MYSQL_ASSOC );
}

elseif( $_POST && $_POST['submitted'] && ( $_GET['id'] ) )
{

$title 		= ( $_POST[ 'title' ] );
	$topic	= ( $_POST[ 'topic_desc' ] );
	$id 				= $_GET['id'];

$success = mysql_query( "SELECT * FROM news", $connectID )
		or die( "Can't Update this record" );

if( $success )
	{
		header( 'Location: links_admin.php?updated=1' );
	}

}
else
{

}

?>

I think you are making your conditions overly complex. For example, what is all of this:

if( @$_POST && @$_POST['submitted'] && ( !@$_GET[ 'id' ] ) )

Why are you using the at symbol in there?