Login help: staying logged in

mannyguy

Hi. I'm new to php. I created a register, log in, welcome, and log out page for my site. They are all working accordingly. I'm having one problem that I can't seem to fix. I would like to stay logged in as I navigate other pages of my site. Everytime i click on a link to another page within my site I get logged out. I know this issue might pertain to using session but thats all I was able to find using google search. Can anyone help? Much appreciated.

<?php

//connects to database
mysql_connect("hose "name", "password") or die(mysql_error());
mysql_select_db("name") or die (mysql_error());

//checks if there is a login cookie
if(isset($_COOKIE['ID_my_site']))

//if there is, it logs in and directs to members page
{
   $username = $_COOKIE['ID_my_site'];
   $userpassword = $_COOKIE['Key_my_site'];
   $check = mysql_query("SELECT * FROM users WHERE username = '$username'")
   or die(mysql_error());

while($info = mysql_fetch_array( $check ))
   {
      if ($userpassword != $info['password'])
         {
         }
      else
         {
         header(" testing_login.php");
         }
   }
}
//if the log in form is submitted
if (isset($_POST['loginsubmit'])) { //if form has been submitted

//makes sure forms is filled in
if(!$_POST['username'] | !$_POST['userpassword']) {
      die("<div id='welcomesign2'>You did not fill in all of the required fields.<br /> <a href='spartacus_home.php'>Try Again.</a></div>");
      }

//checks against database
if (!get_magic_quotes_gpc()) {
   $_POST['email'] = addslashes($_POST['email']);
   }

$check = mysql_query("SELECT * FROM users WHERE username = 
   '".$_POST['username']."'")or die(mysql_error());

//gives error if user doesn't exist
$check2 = mysql_num_rows($check);
if ($check2 == 0) {
   die("<div id='welcomesign2'>Username does not exist in our database. <br /> <a href='spartacus_joinsite.php'>Register</a> or <a href='spartacus_home.php'>Try Again. </a></div>");
   }