Adding and Subtracting within pages.

LuigiLA

Hello everyone,

I am not a php programmer, but I would like to solve a problem regarding math with PHP. I was looking around on the web on how to add (in this case digits) using PHP.

I found out that adding two strings using a . I can then echo out the results; so far so good.

My question however is as follow. How do I add up information from multiple pages? Let's say on one page (let's call it weekly.php) I have my weekly expenses of $300, and on the second page (let's call it monthly.php) I have my monthly expenses of $1400. I would like the result (weekly + monthly) to be displayed (echo'ed out) on the third page (let's call it totalamount.php).

I don't want to take advantage of anyone's time, so I am not asking for the entire solution (code) unless you want to  ::), but I would be just happy to be pointed in the right direction, I will do the rest on my own.

Thank you very much for your time.

Cheers,

Luigi

how are you getting these numbers(The 300 and 1400)? from a: form, database, other?

I am getting the number from just plain text. Imagine it's like in Excel, when using SUM=(A1+A2). By manually change A1 the SUM will adjust accordingly.

There is no database attached to this.

To elaborate on the above post, are these values hard coded into an html page? Or are they being submitted through a form?

Yes, hard coded. I manually change the number on Page 1 and 2. I just want to be able to get the sum of them on the third page automatically using php.

You could use PHP to scrape both pages for the number, but that's a slow process that you can avoid.

Are you interested in doing this the right way, which will be a little more work, but make updating easier?

Would you prefer the quick n dirty way, and not have to change the way those other two pages are set up?

You could use PHP to scrape both pages for the number, but that's a slow process that you can avoid.