Editing a form after submitting

malikye

Hello,

I am very new to PHP. I am working on a project (just an exercise) and I am stump on one of the exercise:

Create a self-submitting form page that accepts the user’s first and last name in 2 text

boxes.

- On submission, your script should replace all instances of the letter “s” with the

number “5”, determines the location of the first “e” (if one exists), and evaluates

whether the last 3 characters of the last name are “son”.

- The modified text should be displayed on the page after submission with the first

“e” underlined and the last 3 characters in italics ONLY if they are “son”.

I am able to figure out the first part with replacing "s" with "5" (I'm very proud of myself for that) but the other parts is what i am stuck on. to find the first "e", i assume I would use a If Then statement and a Left Function, but from there, I don't know how I get it to "echo" an underline "e". same goes for the last part of the exercise. I assume i would use a Right Function.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you,

Malikye

This sounds like homework, so I'm not posting the answer. However, I can tell you the approach and you can figure it out yourself.

To find the first e you can either use some simple regular expressions, or the strpos function.

To tell if "son" is the last 3 letters, you could, again, use regular expressions or the substr function.

thanks scootstah,

this isn't really homework - Im 27 years old and not in school anymore. i won't be graded on this project. but i am trying to learn PHP. i have tried the strpos function - i learned it from w3schools.com. according to w3schools:

"The strpos() function returns the position of the first occurrence of a string inside another string."