Message system

DonaldFaulknor

I'm pretty sure I can probably handle the php myself, I just need to know how is the best way to set up a database for a message other users option.

I was thinking

Messages Table...

ID - Auto Inc, Primary

To

From

Datetime/Timestamp

And should there be any relationships?

I currently have...

users table - Register/Login system working

Friends table - Friend feature working

comments table - to comment on statuses - feature not set up yet

statuses table - Statuses working, to include friend's statuses posting on your homepage

Images table - Images upload and posting to your image page working

Likes table - to like statuses - feature not set up yet

The main thing I need to know is how is the best way to set up the messages table and any relationships needed.

If someone wanted to write the create table query for me, I won't complain, honestly, I won't.  Create table queries are easy for me, but I'm still kind of new to writing queries for relationships, I tend to have to debug errors 5 or 6 tries before I get it right - usually, stupid common syntax errors.  And if a constraint is needed, please let me know how to work with that, everytime I try to add constraints, I just get errors I often can't figure out.  Like I said, I know about writing queries, but relationships is new to me, have about 5 days experience with relationships.

Thanks for the help

No, we're not going to write it for you. Based on this thread and the last one I was involved with, you don't seem to want to understand the problem, you just want the solution. Even when I gave you the solution and explained it, given it didn't work 'out of the box' you just seemed to ignore it.

Create table queries are easy for me, but I'm still kind of new to writing queries for relationships, I tend to have to debug errors 5 or 6 tries before I get it right - usually, stupid common syntax errors.