Just a Simple Newbie Question

livethedead

Hey there, I just started learning PHP as my first language and after being on different forums for several years I know that you can learn a lot from the knowledge of the communities so I figure may aswell be here on my PHP endeavour. I'm not computer/code illiterate so no need to dumb anything down.

My question is about this little script:

<?php
foreach($_REQUEST as $value) {
echo $value;
}
?>

I fully understand what it does, I just don't understand how really. What confuses me is how is anything in the $_REQUEST array as I didn't specify/ how does $_REQUEST know what information to pull.

<label for="first_name">First Name:</label>
  <input type="text" name="first_name" size="20"/><br />
  <label for="last_name"><Last Name:</label>
  <input type="text" name="last_name" size="20"/><br />
  <label for="email">Email Address:</label>
  <input type="text" name="email" size="50"/><br />

Appreciate any explanations for my newbie self.  ;)

I looked through that aswell as $_GET and $_POST. I understand what $_REQUEST does, just not how. Like $_REQUEST['email'] I get. What has me stumped is how is $_REQUEST realising to go through the HTML labels?

I may have answered my own question, does $_REQUEST inherently go through all labels unless specified?

when a form is submitted, it sends a $_GET or $_POST request to the server. $_GET, $_POST, and $_REQUEST are superglobal arrays that contain the values sent to the server via a $_GET or $_POST method, ($_REQUEST holds both) as associative. So when your input values are sent to the server via your form being submitted (using $_GET or $_POST methods), $_REQUEST is populated with that data, and you retrieve it using the name of the input as the key name, ($_REQUEST['name of input']).

Pay attention to this notice in the manual:

Note: