Help regarding user input

ggenc

Hey guys! I'm pretty new to php and starting work on a project, the first part I'm working on is a html page with text fields like this:

URL:

Dropdown box:

Submit

when the submit happens I want it to post to a php page, parse whatever is inside a set of <h2> tags and print it to to the php page, also the user selects four options from the dropdown box and I need to print the string contained in the selection to the next page as well, As I said I'm pretty new but here's what i threw together so far based on references I found, but it doesn't work correctly:

parse.html:

<html>
<body>

<form action="parse.php" method="post">
URL: <input type="text" name="turl" /> 
<br>
Option:
<select name="selectskill">
        <option value="1">Low</option>
        <option value="2">Mid</option>
        <option value="3">High</option>
        <option value="4">Known</option>
    </select>
    <br>
<br>
<input type="submit" />
</form>

</body>
</html> 

parse.php:

<html>
<head></head>
<body>
<?php
   $lol = $_POST["turl"];
   $str = file_get_contents($lol);
   $DOM = new DOMDocument;
   $DOM->loadHTML($str);
   // Grab text inside the heading 2 tags
   $items = $DOM->getElementsByTagName('h2');
   echo "option: " . $lol;
   // Display the content inside the second set of H2 tags
   echo $items->item(1)->nodeValue . "<br/>";

?>
</body>
</head>
</html>

Thanks for all the help in advance!

well basically there is a title in the page I'm trying to parse (title of a tournament) and it is between a set of <h2> tags, I was testing it on a test tournament page and the title of the tournament was "Test tourney" now when I input the link to a new tournament it just keeps saying "test tourney", as if it's not parsing the new link. also the option from the drop down box doesn't get printed to the next page too

What you should make sure of is that you actually get the content from the page.