Simple number check problem

apotd

Hi,

I'm totally new to PHP and I'm afraid I don't understand a lot yet. However, I need to make this: when you fill in a number in a form, it should be displayed whether the number is odd or even. I tried the following code, which is obviously not working and I have no idea on how to fix this.

<?php 
$var = $_POST['var'];

for ($i = 0; $i < $var; $i++) {
  if ($i % 2 == 0) {
    print("even");
  } else {
   print("odd");
  }
}
?>

My bad, of course. I used the following code instead, which works:

<?php 
$number = $_POST['number'];

if($number % 2) {
print("odd");
} else {
    print("even");
}

?>

The thing is, I need to perform a for loop on the result (I won't be actually printing it in the end), so I was sort of confused by that. One more thing, is it possible just to put the for loop at the place where the "print" is now situated, or am I thinking totally wrong here?

I'm sorry. I know I sound confusing. Fact is I am confused. But, I found out I had to use a while loop. Tried completing my code but I'm already having problems on the first part. I just want to do a calculation on the number if it is odd, and then make it print the outcome (end1) as long as the number is bigger than one. However, I get an error on the "$number / 2 = $end1;" line.

<?php 
$number = $_POST['number'];

if($number % 2) {
while ($number > 1){	
	$number / 2 = $end1;
	print($end1);
}
} else {
}

?>

When I try that (your second post), it just divides the number in two. I need the script to keep dividing it in two till the number equals one. That's why I thought I should use a while loop to keep it going till that point. I also want it to print every step. But I don't see how I can do this without a loop. Is it wrong to use "$end1 = $number / 2; " as you first said? Because this actually removed the error, but it just prints an awful lot of 0's onto my page.

Works like a charm, thank you!