Contact form security + data in form disappear + error message display

angelali

Hello, I have coded a contact form in PHP and I want to know, if according to you, it is secure! I am new in PHP, so I want some feedback from you.

Moreover, I have also two problems based on the contact form. It is a bit complicated to explain, thus, I will break each of my problem one by one.

FIRST:The first thing I want to know, is if my contact form secure according to you:

The HTML with the PHP codes:

<?php
if ($_SERVER['REQUEST_METHOD'] == 'POST') {

//Assigning variables to elements
$first = htmlentities($_POST['first']);
$last = htmlentities($_POST['last']);
$sub = htmlentities($_POST['subject']);
$email = htmlentities($_POST['email']);	
$web = htmlentities($_POST['website']);	
$heard = htmlentities($_POST['heard']);
$comment = htmlentities($_POST['message']);
$cap = htmlentities($_POST['captcha']);

//Declaring the email address with body content
$to = 'alithebestofall2010@gmail.com';
$body ="First name: '$first' \n\n Last name: '$last' \n\n Subject: '$sub' \n\n Email: '$email' \n\n Website: '$web' \n\n Heard from us: '$heard' \n\n Comments: '$comment'";

//Validate the forms
if (empty($first) || empty($last) || empty($sub) || empty($email) || empty($comment) || empty($cap)) {
echo '<p class="error">Required fields must be filled!</p>';	
header ('refresh= 3; url= index.php');
return false;

} 
elseif (filter_var($first, FILTER_VALIDATE_INT) || filter_var($last, FILTER_VALIDATE_INT)) {
echo '<p class="error">You cannot enter a number as either the first or last name!</p>';
return false;
} 
elseif (!filter_var($email, FILTER_VALIDATE_EMAIL)) {
echo '<p class="error">Incorrect email address!</p>';
return false;	
}
elseif (!($cap === '12')){
echo '<p class="error">Invalid captcha, try again!</p>';
return false;
}
else {
mail ($to, $sub, $body);
echo '<p class="success">Thank you for contacting us!</p>';	
}
}
?>
<form action="<?php echo $_SERVER['PHP_SELF'];?>" method="post">