PHP export to csv

genius_supreme

Dear freak gurus out there,

I'm new to php and sql as i learn from online examples  :D.

Though there are lots of links and answers out there related to my post but none reflects what i need. You guys my only hope.

What i have:

3 tables : each has its own number of fields (tbl1=14 ,tbl2=9,tbl3=9). There is a field in each tables that can be related (FamilyField).

What i need:

export to csv all the records from all 3 tables which relates to search criteria (by user) based on a field (MembershipField) which the data may vary from other tables.

pseudo code:

$membership_type =$_POST['mtype'];

$sql=" SELECT field1,field2,field5,MembershipField from tbl1, (SELECT field1,field2,MembershipField from tbl2), (SELECT field3,field6,field8,MembershipField from tbl3) WHERE MembershipFied=$membership_type";

export to csv file by using INTO OUTFILE;

I have tried all the code i can find to export from 1 table to csv, and i manage to use UNION to get output from 3 tables but unable to export

as the error message was "incorrect usage of UNION and INTO.

is this possible? or any workaround?

guides with samples will be a great help.

There's a typo in your select statement: MembershipFied should probably be MembershipField.

It also looks like you may be using your sub-selects wrong (inside the parenthesis). This type of sub-select will take whatever is output from the SELECT statement and put it in there where the sub-select is located. So, for example, let me make up some cells for your tbl2 and tbl3 (i don't know what's actually in those tables). MySQL will first run what's inside the parenthesis and leave you with a SELECT statement that looks something like this:

SELECT field1,field2,field5,MembershipField from tbl1, 3,2,1, 5,4,3,2, WHERE MembershipFied=$membership_type

This type of SELECT statement doesn't make any sense. Could you explain in more detail what you want to accomplish with your database?