Is there a way to not call each file in index.php?

Mal1

I've inherited a website and I'm no PHP expert.

The way pages work is the urls are displayed as follows http://www.website.com/?action=<page_name>

The pages are stored in a folder called templates as .tpl files. Amongst these is a file called layouts.tpl which is the website layout and menus, inside this there's a php include

<?php include("template/$content_for_layout.tpl"); ?>

which basically draws the content for the page from each static file when requested. In the index.php each static file has to be included as in the following example:

case "conditions"; $title = "Terms & Conditions";
$content_for_layout = $_GET['action'];
break;

Without this in the index.php the page just reverts back to the homepage when you enter the url. I personally don't think this is right? It is handy to be able to manage all the page titles from a central location (index.php) but seems quite messy and cumbersome. I plan on making an articles or news folder and regularly creating pages and if each one has to be relayed this way in the index it is going to get big and cause headaches.

Is there any way around this that anyone can see?

... On another note. If you type in the actual physical url of the file location it shows the html of the page without the layout i.e. http://www.website.com/template/conditions.tpl

I don't know how common it is for websites to display "../?action=pagename" or similar but I wouldn't have thought it would be ideal for SEO purposes?

This is actually the preferred approach. This approach has several advantages. You can have pretty URL's, you won't have duplicated code, bugs can be easier to track down, it can prove a little more secure, etc. Here is a diagram of how CodeIgniter (and many other applications) route the application.

appflowchart.gif

action=pagename is better for SEO, because you can have descriptive pagenames that are easier to read.