Duplicate content from my loop

gonefussin

Hi. I'm new to PHP and Wordpress, quite the beginner. I thought I finally had it all done on my site and I've stumbled on another issue.

Basically I post a link and it spits it out. I sometimes post links that have the same domain ($content['host']) but I don't want these to be duplicated.

Here's what I have:

<?php query_posts(''); ?>
<?php while (have_posts()) : the_post(); ?>

<li>
<a href="http://<?php $content = parse_url(strip_tags(get_the_content())); echo $content['host']; ?>">

<?php $content = parse_url(strip_tags(get_the_content())); echo $content['host']; ?></a>
</li>

<?php endwhile;?>

I've Googled around for a while, reading posts about how to prevent duplicate posts in multiple loops but can't adapt it to mine. I'd really appreciate any advice.

Cheers,

Craig.

You'll have to modify the have_posts() function to not fetch duplicates. Or, modify the code that saves the data to not save duplicates.

Hi Scoots,

Could you elaborate on that please? I've tried stopping it via have_posts with "if($post->ID == $do_not_duplicate) continue; ?>" but it either doesn't stop the duplicates coming out or outputs nothing at all. I don't know what you mean by the code that saves the data.

Am I on the right track with this:

<?php query_posts(''); ?>
<?php while (have_posts()) : the_post();

$s = array(the_content());
$d = array_unique($s); ?>

<li><a href="http://<?php $content = parse_url(strip_tags($d)); echo $content['host']; ?>"><?php $content = parse_url(strip_tags($d)); echo $content['host']; ?></a></li>

<?php endwhile;?>

Thanks,

Craig.

array_unique won't work from inside the while loop, since it's only getting one row at a time.