Pagination Help

LemonSquid

Hi guys,

I have a question about pagination. It's not really about the coding side so I'm really sorry if this is the wrong section!

Ok my question is, does pagination actually create multiple pages? I'm really new to PHP and I'm just reading through different things and tutorials to try and figure it out if you will.

So does it create new pages? From my understanding it simply changes a variable to a page number and uses that page number (and simple matH) to figure out what rows to show. If this is the case, how do people use pagination to create links such as http://example.com/imnooby/page-1

http://example.com/imnooby/page-2

http://example.com/imnooby/page-3

Surely if this was all just one page, it would just be http://example.com/imnooby/page and the variable would change depending on the button, but the same page would be reloaded?

This is the part that's really bugging me and any explanation would really help.

Hi again, could you help me with the rewrite rule? I've been googling but can't get it working on my test page. I can get the pagination working in the sense of limits and goes to &page2 etc but I can't do rewrite to make the $page um Id actually change, it stays at 1.

I know this is wrong section but I already had the thread so thought it was worth a try

Usually it's something like

<IfModule mod_rewrite.c>
RewriteEngine on
Options +FollowSymLinks -Indexes

RewriteCond %{REQUEST_FILENAME} !-f
RewriteCond %{REQUEST_FILENAME} !-d

RewriteRule ^(.*)$ index.php/$1 [L]
</IfModule>

All requests will go through index.php and then you throw some logic in there to direct traffic.

Your links would look like example.com/segment1/segment2/segment3 ... etc

You can access them by exploding $_SERVER['REQUEST_URI']