Speed up search results/queries

Mal1

Complete beginner here so just really looking for pointers on where to start.

Been doing a bit of bug fixing on one of our sites because the past 3 programmers we've hired have disappeared on us. The big issue I'm looking to solve is the load time of a search. Our website (Love-Rugs) is taking about 6 or 7 seconds to perform a blank search (basically a quick browse) whereas out other site (Little-Persia) takes about a second. It wouldn't be so bad if it was just the initial search but going from one page (only 10 products listed per page) to the next takes the same amount of time.

There seems to be an awful lot of queries (around 130-150) on the searches - however - when using some of the search options e.g. type and fabric to refine the search the queries actually stay high but the time to process the results is reduced significantly. I don't really understand why if the queries are still high the search time is much lower unless it's to do with the number of results returned. However this does not explain why Little-Persia (which has far more products on it) takes less time as there would obviously be more results.

I realize that without code this isn't easy to answer so I'm just looking to see if someone can point me in the right direction to look at just now.

Sorry, but we can't help you if you don't post code. 130-150 queries for a simple search is pretty much insane. I'm 99% sure you could do whatever you're doing in a single query.

Will try to post tomorrow... will need to find the actual pages that are sending the queries - there are probably several interlinked.

Thanks.

Agree with scootstah. Basic search can be done in a simple query with joins if necessary instead of 120-130 queries.

The difference in page load times if some filter is applied may be because of indexes defined on your tables. Correctly defined Indexes play a huge part on the query execution time.