Help with drop down lists

AndrewC14

Hi I'm new to php and have spent the last 3 days scouring the internet for solutions to my problem!

I have two drop down lists within a table and when I select a value from the second drop down list and submit it, the value I selected in my first drop down list goes back to 0 

I'm sure this is a noobish problem but I would love to know how to work out.

this is my code:

<html>

<head>

<?php

//sums arrays

$band1 = array();

$band1[1]="13903";

$band1[2]="14614";

$band1[3]="14258";

$band1[4]="17537.96";

$band1[5]="70151.82";

$band1[6]="311.79";

$band1[7]="41.57";

$band1[8]="0.69";

$band1[9]="0.0115";

?>

</head>

<body>

<table border="1">

<tr>

<td>Band 1</td>

<td>Number of Staff</td>

<td>Average cost per hour/min/sec</td>

<td> Select hours/mins/sec Drop down menu</td>

<td>Average cost by time per person</td>

</tr>

<tr>

<td>Cost per Hour</td>

<td><FORM NAME ="staff" id="staff_filter" METHOD ="POST" ACTION ="cost improvement tool.php">

<select name="staff1" id="staff1" onchange="document.getElementById('staff_filter').submit();">

<?php

$dopvalue=0;

for ($i=0; $i<201; $i++)

{

?>

<option value="<?php echo $i; ?>"<?php if($i==$_POST["staff1"]) echo "selected" ; ?>><?php echo $i; ?></option>

<?php

}

$dop=$_POST['staff1'];

?>

</select>

</form>

</td>

<td><?php $costphour=$band1[2]*$band1[3];

echo "£" . number_format($costphour); ?></td>

<td><FORM NAME ="report" id="report_filter" METHOD ="POST" ACTION ="cost improvement tool.php">

<select name="cars" id="cars"onchange="document.getElementById('report_filter').submit();">

<?php

//drop down list loop and retaining value

$dropvalue=0;

for ($start=0; $start<201; $start++)

{

?>

<option value="<?php echo $start; ?>" <?php if($start==$_POST["cars"]) echo "selected"; ?>><?php echo $start; ?></option>

<?php

}

$drop=$_POST['cars'];

?>

</select>

</form>

</td>

<td><?php echo $drop;?>

</td>

</tr>

<td>

</table>

</body>

</html>