Struggling with my first regular expression!

daj

Hi

I've been trying to figure this out half the afternoon!!  It's my first attempt at using preg_match and regular expressions and I am really struggling.  I could do it using other methods based on a number of if's and strpos, etc but I know this is not the best  way.

I have a short string, for example D34V78.  I would like to split this into four elements, with the result an array of D, 34, V and 78

The D (first character) is always D.

It is then always followed by a number of unknown length

Then a V, A or E

then another number of unknown length

Further examples.... D1V3  or D98E62

Can some kind person help me by suggesting the regular expression -- my little brain is in melt down with it.  :-\

$string = "D34V78";
preg_match('~^(D)([0-9]+)([VAE])([0-9]+)$~',$string,$parts);
print_r($parts);

Array
(
    [0] => D34V78
    [1] => D
    [2] => 34
    [3] => V
    [4] => 78
)

edit: I added a capture group around the first "D" because I noticed you said you wanted the array to include it...but if you say it will ALWAYS Start with D, then I'm not sure why you really *need* it to be captured, but there you have it.

Excellent, thanks for the quick reply.

I'm slowly trying to understand it.  I had since come up with this, which seems to work

^D([0-9]+)([A|E|V])([0-9]+)^

But I will read up on your method to help me understand

Okay so the way your pattern works...