PHP insert in MySQL database table in random order?

Metasearching

Hi,

I'm a researcher (and complete coding noob), and am planning a longitudinal study that requires e-mail follow-up with subjects taking an initial survey. For purposes of ethics/anonymity due to sensitive survey data, I'd like the acquired e-mails to be saved uncoupled from the survey responses; this is simple to deal with, and I use a basic PHP e-mail form, which injects the email address in a table in MySQL in a different server than the one used for the survey.

The issue is that the e-mails are saved in the MySQL database in order of injection, thus it is still theoretically possible for me to link the e-mails back to the survey responses (which have a time stamp that I cannot remove).  Ideally I would like not to be able (at all) to link the e-mails to the survey responses, and one way to do that (since I don't save the e-mail injection timestamps in MySQL) might be to have the e-mails saved in MySQL in a random order. Not sure if this is possible, and not even sure if this would be via PHP or MySQL side of things. The server is on godaddy and uses Starfield interface for MySQL but I cannot find an option for random insert/saving of table items (emails). They are saved in order of injection.

Any solution for this?

Thanks,

I edited the title of the topic to better reflect what you want.  Usually, when referring to a database, 'inject' relates to SQL injection attacks.

Do you have an integer id column in your table?  If so, instead of setting it to auto-increment upon data insertion, have your PHP script generate a random number for the id (look at mt_rand), and insert that with the rest of the data.  When you print out a report, simply ORDER BY id ASC.  The emails will be effectively shuffled.

Hi KevinM1,

Thanks for the clarification, re: inject versus insert.