Login page issues

sevaara

I'm completely new to programming in PHP so I looked up a tutorial on youtube, came across the phpacademy tutorial for making a login page script.  I followed everything as mentioned in the video but for some reason, I can login without a username or password entered and on top of that it's not displaying any of the messages I added in the code.  I'm using Xampp for my Apache server and MySQL, configured everything I should of (as far as I know) but it still refuses to work.

Here's the html for the login page, just a basic form.

<html>

<form action='login.php' method='POST'>
	Username: <input type='text' name='username'><br>
	Password: <input type='password' name='password'><br>
	<input type='submit' value='Log in'>

</html>

And then we have the PHP code which isn't working AT ALL.  It's like it's not reading it at all for some reason and I can't figure out why.

<?php

$connect = mysql_connect("localhost", "root", "") or die("Couldn't connect!");
  mysql_select_db("phplogin") or die("Couldn't find DB");

$connection =@ mysql_connect($db['server'], $db['user'], $db['password']) or die (include_once("offline.php"));
$db =@ mysql_select_db($db['database']) or die (include_once("offline.php"));

if($_POST['username'] && $_POST['password']){

$username = trim($_POST['username']);
  $password = trim($_POST['password']);

$query = mysql_query("SELECT * FROM `users` WHERE `username` = '$username' AND `password` = '$password'");

$numrows = mysql_num_rows($query);

if ($numrows > 0){

echo "Username & Password correct (Logged in)";

} else {
    echo "That user doesn't exist";
  }
} else {
echo "Please enter a username and password!";
} 
?>

One thing I should mention is that, if I try to login on firefox it shows part of my php code as text, if I open it on Opera it displays the whole php code as text.  Any ideas? -.-'

If you're seeing PHP code then it sounds like your server isn't configured for it.

Create a new file, call it test.php