I'm new to PHP, having trouble displaying data in a form

michael1062

Hi i'm new to PHP/web development but not new to coding.

I have some php code that I grabed from a template where I am selecting data from a file and having it diplay on the screen in a form.  My $query = "select * from file where" statement works and bring the data back to the screen.  However, I want the data to be returned in a textarea instead of a text field that is not big enough to display the 3 paragraph that i need to display. 

Please see code below, thsi code will return the data but the text box only returns the data in a line, I need the data to be returned in a textarea, so I can update it.  I have looked for the correct syntex with no luck, please correct me.

$row = mysql_fetch_array($result, MYSQL_ASSOC);

$recordid = $row['recordid'];

$homepage = $row['homepage'];

echo "<h2>Update About Us Information</h2>\n";

echo "<form enctype=\"multipart/form-data\" action=\"admin.php\" method=\"post\">\n";

echo "<table width=\"100%\" cellpadding=\"1\" border=\"1\">\n";

echo "<tr><td><h3>Record ID</h3></td><td>$recordid</td></tr>\n";

echo "<tr><td><h3>Homepage</h3></td><td><input type=\"text\" size=\"100\"  name=\"homepage\" value=\"$homepage\" /></td></tr>\n";

echo "</table>\n";

echo "<input type=\"submit\" name=\"button\" value=\"Update\">\n";

echo "<input type=\"submit\" name=\"button\" value=\"Delete Product\">\n";

echo "</form>\n";

Hey there,

for future reference, be sure to place your code inside of [ code ][ /code ] (with no spaces on the inside of the tags) tags so its easy to read.

As for your example, why dont you change the the input type to 'textarea' instead of just 'text' ? You can then use either CSS to style in the appropriate height and width or you can use a format like this: <textarea rows="2" cols="20"> to get the proper height and width you need.

Hope that helped

algid